Saligia: (The Seven Deadly Sins) – pronounced ‘SaLeeJea’– a MediaevilLatin ‘mnemonic’ name, (a memory aid - a made-up word or phrase to remember any difficult sequence), given to the Seven Deadly Sins. Collectively these are: superbia  (pride)

avaritia    (greed)

luxuria     (lust/extravagance)

invidia      (envy)

gula          (gluttony)

ira            (wrath/anger)

acedia      (sloth/apathy/melancholy).


The Seven Deadly Sins, also known as the cardinal sins, are the vices that were originally used in The Roman Catholic Church’s Christian teachings, from the early 14th century, to educate and instruct people about (immoral) fallen man's tendency to sin.

cookies disabled

To purchase Alchemy Gothic products visit the Alchemy Dealer List - Trade Customers visit
Copyright Alchemy Carta Ltd. Alchemy Gothic is a registered Trademark, All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Site MapFriends of Alchemy.